The campground was once the site of factory buildings, stores, and
company row houses owned by the McKean Chemical Company, which made wood
alcohol. A company splash dam, used to augment water levels for the
chemical plant downstream, once occupied the site of today's dam. When
McKean Chemical Company closed in the 1920s, the Forest Service acquired
In 1936, the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) constructed the present
dam on Hoffman Run, creating the swimming impoundment. They built the
lower campground, picnic area, pavilions, and bathhouse. The "twin"
impoundment was never built, as money planned for its construction was
The upper campground loop was added in the early 1960s, and the
bathhouse and sewage system were completely renovated in 1970.
Today, Twin Lakes has been renovated once again. The recreation area
has now been made accessible for people with disabilities, and has been
modernized to include more campsites and sites with electrical hookups.
Twin Lakes Recreation Area is located eight miles southeast of Kane.
Take State Route 321 from Kane; turn right on Forest Road (FR) 191.
Information provided by the
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Forest Service. For
more information visit the official
Allegheny National Forest